The Leverett Historical Society currently has two main locations of
historical interest available for the public.
One location is the Historic Moore’s Corner School/Meeting House nestled in the north end of town. This 1810 building was once a religious meeting house and for many years the local one room schoolhouse. Recently this historic structure has had its bell tower returned high atop of the building. Now, all can once again hear meetings and celebrations commence at the toll of the historic bell.
This building has been the home of the Leverett Historical Society since the 1960’s when a group of concerned citizens took over the abandoned building and restored it into a museum with locally donated artifacts, books, and genealogy materials.
Materials and artifacts are available for research by appointment.
Meetings for the Historic Society in Moore’s Corner are seasonal.
Generally every 3rd Thursday in the Fall; Sept, Oct, & Nov.
(Dec, Jan, & Feb. are off for public meetings/programs).
Then in Spring; March, April, May, June. (Annual Plant Sale each May)
Summer months the building is open for drop in on Sundays 1-3.
Meetings begin w/ business conducted by officers at 7 p.m. generally followed by a program of historical or local subject matter @ 7:30 p.m.
Meetings announcements are publicized in local papers and occasionally an alternate location for events will be chosen and advertised.
The Moore’s Corner Schoolhouse is located on N. Leverett Rd. 3 miles East of the junction of Rte. 63 and N. Leverett Rd.